RSS

Nanowrimo 2014

25 Sep

He we are, neat tune beginning of October. I’ve been giving lots of thought to that for two reasons. First, my birthday is in November, and I’m thinking about how to celebrate. Second, Nanowrimo is coming up.
For those of you who don’t know what Nanowrimo is, the best way I can describe it is to call it a challenge to write the first draft of a book in a month. For those of you who know exactly what Nanowrimo is, I welcome any better explanation.
Nanowrimo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and it’s fun to say. Go on, say it. You know you want to. Nanowrimo.
“So what,” you may ask. “What dies it mean for me” Well, that depends. You may or may not be interested in writing a novel. It may have been a fleeting thought once upon a time, or it may be an obsession of which you feel unworthy. Or you may be a reader looking forward to the new books that will come out of this, many of which will be published either independently or by a traditional publisher. Not all Nanowrimo projects will be published. Some will do it just to see if they could. Some will, sadly, give up on the idea. All in all, I find the whole thing very exciting. That’s why I’ve decided to participate this year. This will push my limits to the extreme, and I give no guarantee of success. Still, I will try. I’m hoping that, whether I publish it or not, it will boost my creativity and give me the boost I need.
As I commit to this, I must admit that I’m a little intimidated. It’s a big deal. As part of my commitment, I will be posting my word count on Twitter, both daily and total. I look forward to seeing where this journey will lead me, and I encourage you, if you’ve ever thought about writing, to join the challenge.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
