RSS

Rough Draft

09 Mar

Well, here I am again, trying to write.  I say trying because as I sit in front of my computer my inner editor is trying to make me crazy.  (In case you were wondering, he’s succeeding.)  He says to me “that looks terrible,” and “better go fix that line in chapter 3 to make this work.  He even criticizes my word count.  So here I am asking one simple question; how rough can my rough draft be?  I know that I’ll have to write more drafts, and there will be much editing.  On the other hand, I know from where I am right now that there are certain things that have to change.  So why not fix those things now?

It’s tough to silence the inner editor.  He never seems to let up.  Every time I stay to write, the he is with all sorts of nasty things to say. I know I shouldn’t listen to him, but he doesn’t care.

I wonder, could my rough draft be little more than “this happened, then that happened”? It’s not like anyone’s going to read it anyway. Thus is the nature of the though draft. I can sort out details later, and improve that pesky word count.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 9, 2013 in Drafts, Editing, Rants

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

