RSS

Marketing to Writers

27 Oct

I have a dilemma.  I’m writing fiction, and my target audience is primarily readers of fantasy.  I have a blog for writers, a twitter account (most of my followers are writers), and a Facebook page liked by only friends and family.  So where is my target audience?
Don’t get me wrong – I’d love to sell to writers, friends, and family.  But they aren’t my target audience.  I can’t expect to earn much with my writing if I don’t develop a larger readership than my social circle.  There lies the challenge – how can I attract my target audience?
I’ve decided that my business plan will include short-story giveaways, which is all well and good if I can get those stories into the hands of my target audience.  So how do I do that? The funny thing is, I know that I’m going to be bombarded with spam offering me the best strategies and services to attract readers. I’ve seen some of those strategies in action, by the way. One such plan involves giving away a free eBook for subscribing to a newsletter. Sounds good. Usually said eBook is something like “How to Make Millions on Kindle”. Not bad if your target audience is writers who want to publish on Kindle. Another favourite is the podcast for writers. Don’t get me wrong, I listen to a few of those. But I’m listening as a writer looking for advice. I know, you’re probably thinking “isn’t this a blog for writers?” Well, yes it is. This is what I’ve seen in motion, so I figured I’d give it a shot. If it helps some writers, that’s awesome. In the end, they may be the ones to buy my books. Maybe I should write a book on self publishing.

In the end, I’d really just like to figure out how to reach readers who aren’t also writing.  If you have some good ideas, please leave a comment.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

