RSS

Writing in Transit

13 Oct

If you’re like me, you spend lots of time on public transit.  (If you don’t, then please disregarid this post.)  This means that you have time that’s not taken up with other things like driving.  Many people use this time to read; a practice of which I wholeheartedly approve.  (After all, where would the modern author be if people didn’t read?). You (and I), oh writer, may do the same.  On the other hand, you may choose, instead, to write.  “How?” you may ask.  Let me answer with a question: Do you own any kind of portable computer?  Chances are that you do.
Most of us have laptops and/or tablet computers. Just about all of us own smart phones.  All of these can be equipped with a word processor.  (I use Open Office on my laptop and Kingsoft Office on my smart phone.  Both are free.)  That means that as long as I have access to either my laptop or my phone I can write.  Since I never leave home without my phone, I can write anytime I’m not otherwise engaged, such as commuting on the bus. 
Maybe you don’t take transit.  It’s likely that you drive.  Do you have an hour lunch?  That’s a great time to write.  Think about it.  What time works for you?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 13, 2012 in Advice, Resources

 

One response to “Writing in Transit

  1. bob webster

    October 20, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Keep writing ,i don’t write on transit my phone is a bit.small for that and I drive mostly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

